Home > Thinking Out Loud > A case of the awesomes

A case of the awesomes

I walk across the courtyard, enter the Starbucks cafe, and stand in line. Most of the Baristas here know me by face, two of them even know my name. I usually order the same thing each time I’m here – Tall, extra-hot, 4-pump, stirred Chai. And here’s what invariably happens when it’s my turn to order.

Barista: “what can I get started for you today?”

Me: <<description of the chai>>

Barista: Awesome! Anything else for you today?

Me: No, thanks; that will be it

Barista: Awesome!

As my drink is announced, I walk up to the bar, and say “Thanks”.

Barista: Awesome!

* * *

At the grocery store, the cashier asks – will that be all?

Me: Yes please

Cashier: Awesome!

And so it goes on. At the restaurant, the gelato shop, the fast-food joint – you name it. Anywhere and everywhere I go, I am reassured that my choices are “Awesome”. In fact, if today I go to the pharmacy and ask “do you have anything for someone afflicted with the awesomes”, I’m sure what the girl will say.

Awesome!!

  1. December 25, 2013 at 9:54 AM

    A tea regular at Starbucks!

    Is it any good?
    the Chai I mean…

    oh, and Merry Xmas Supernaut :)

    • December 25, 2013 at 11:15 AM

      Yes, it actually is pretty good. The only thing I don’t like about it is that instead of Ginger, it has Cinnamon. It doesn’t taste as nice as the chai from a tapri, but it’s good all the same. All you should remember is to ask for an “extra pump” and stir it before drinking.

      Also – “Tea” in a Starbucks is the English version – black, made by dipping a tea-bag. If you want “Chai”, you have to ask for “Chai” and not “Tea”.

      Merry Christmas!

      • December 25, 2013 at 11:19 AM

        Ah
        Cinnamon

        Starbucks is still a luxury here but one shall try

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

