Home > Corporate Tales > Master Of Puppets

Master Of Puppets

Fridays are always welcome; last Friday was a harbinger of especially good news – my Project was shortlisted for the CEO’s award for the best managed project. From about 60 nominations organization-wide, only 12 have been shortlisted. We have at least cleared the initial Quantitative Screening criteria, later this week we are to present our case before a full jury.

After this news, the weekend was spent in a flurry of activity – getting a feel of what the jury will look for, collating the necessary data, coordinating with the Onsite folks and preparing the ppt. My boss was pessimistic about our chances, so I decided to make up for it by ensuring the presentation was smooth & sauve. I was able to sell the concept of minimalistic ppts – each slide contains between one & three words – the main idea in focus. The bullets that would have cluttered up the slide will now be spoken out loud.

Come Monday morning, and my presentation was finally ready from my side; to be reviewed and approved by my boss. A quick run-through with him, and he seemed to be OK with it. Some clarifications were asked for and given. Then he shared his expectation – he would be presenting it, not me.

The big problem with this is that I have prepared the slides in a manner which I am comfortable with – I’m not sure what the outcome will be when he attempts the presentation. Fingers crossed…

Categories: Corporate Tales Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

