Home > Corporate Tales > Setup for failure

Setup for failure

I have been entrusted with an additional responsibility – to establish & develop a new practice within our department. The way the targets have been setup, I’ll need to have about 10 people working for clients before Q3 begins. Obviously, it’s a challenging task. I prepared a “Business Plan”, which was reviewed by the powers that be. I was asked to make some changes, which I made, and sent it for the next review. This time, I was asked to include “Rationale for establishing the Campus Solutions practice”.

To the best of my knowledge, the rationale is “because the VP of our department wants this practice set up”. But that’s another story.

*  *  *

Last week, I was told that 5 people have been identified to help me. On Thursday I had a formal meeting with them, and was I in for a surprise?

I had evaluated these very folks about 5 months ago for another assignment, and they are all bad. No, they are actually totally hopeless. They cannot speak, they don’t know their stuff, they don’t even know what they are supposed to know (and being paid for). One of them is perpetually bewildered, one is scared to death and the other three are all enthusiastic. Although I have not lost all hope, I have pretty much given up on the outcome.

I’ve been setup for failure, but I’m determined to make as graceful an exit as possible.

Categories: Corporate Tales Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

