Home > Side Projects, Thinking Out Loud > A Fresh Resolution

A Fresh Resolution

I have always been a day dreamer. I like to conjure up scenes, making heroes & heroines act to my whims. I also dabbled my hands with writing, and came up with a couple of short stories. However, last year I got a fresh idea – of writing a novel. Not a short story, not a novella, but the whole works. A tome.

I gobbled up all the material I could find about writing. I read about character sketches, plots, plot hooks, even about the words and language constructs to avoid. A fan of Monte Cristo, I knew what I would write about. Within three months, I had a plot in hand, and had also written three chapters in the story. No, the chapters were written in less than two months – the remainder of the time was spent in polishing the output.

And then it happened… Writer’s block!

I don’t know whether writer’s block is the right word, but for all practical purposes, I slammed into a wall, a dead end. Three chapters of the story behind me, I realized that my hero was not fit to be the hero. Instead, one of his accomplices would now have to become his mentor. And the hero would most probably become a pawn in the mentor’s hands (not in the negative sense, but I hope you get the idea).

That was about seven months ago, and I still hadn’t got the motivation to continue writing.

Yesterday, I was chatting with a friend when the subject of writing came up again. And in the course of those two hours, I decided that I will not let my story die. Yesterday, I dug up all my work in progress, all of my reference material.

Today, I have read through it, and I am back in that world I had conjured. Today, I am ready to start writing again.

It does not matter who the hero is, my story deserves to be told. And it deserves to be told by me.

  1. May 20, 2010 at 7:47 PM

    Hey

    Want a great way to break through writer’s block and other writer’s problems? The NaNoWriMo group in Nov is amazing, builds strong writers 12 ways and teaches you a lot about writing.

    And it’s a blast…

    The challenge is to write a 50,000 word novel in a month. Thousands of folks do this impossible thing every year, and the experience taught me more about writing than years of experience

    Can’t wait that long? Check out the book ” No Plot-no Problem” by the folks from NaNoWriMo. And I believe hat there are other similar projects thoughout the year.

    Catherine
    Foresight

  2. supernaut
    May 24, 2010 at 1:13 PM

    Hey Catherine,

    Yes, I had read about NaNoWriMo quite some time back.. But I guess that got lost in the cobwebs within my head. Thanks for reminding me of it!

    I’ll signup there, and keep my fingers crossed……….

    Thanks again!

  3. May 24, 2010 at 7:25 PM

    You’re welcome. Hope it helps( opened my horizons 🙂 )

    Catherine
    Foresight

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

