Home > Corporate Tales > State of the Organization

State of the Organization

Apparently a few girls from my organization stay in the same building as I do. I’m not acquainted with them, but the identity cards they wear are unmistakable (that’s one of the pitfalls of being in the software industry – you are tagged like a dog – but that’s a story for another post).

Yesterday, when I was leaving for office, I saw one of the girls hurrying out – she had got late, and must have missed the bus. I offered her a ride, and she stepped in. After dropping my daughter to school, we started chatting on the way to office. She spoke of the technology she works on, how she misses her hometown (Delhi), and how she plans to go back there soon.

And then, she said that the workload here is very heavy, and that she regularly has to stay late in the evenings just to cope up with the work assigned. I agreed, for a lot of folks in my department spend their evenings in office as well.

“Do you have to stay late too,” she asked.

“No, I don’t do much work, and I come back home on time.”

“Oh, then you must be a manager.”

Ironically, she was right. And even more ironically, she did not mean to be sarcastic at all.

Categories: Corporate Tales Tags: ,
  1. Jay Choksi
    June 18, 2010 at 7:10 PM

    Dilbert principle illustrated! Coming home early = being a manager = not working = causing least damage?

  2. supernaut
    June 21, 2010 at 12:46 PM

    Scott Adams was right about that, wasn’t he?

    Honestly, if you filter the sarcasm out of Dilbert, it is full of profound truth (and lot of tips).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

