Decisions…

On 5th November 2010, we left India, and landed in Denver on the 6th. In these three months, the topic we have discussed the most has been “how long should we stay in the US of A”. Of all the Indian people we have met here, I believe we are the exception. While everyone here is trying to prolong their stay, we are trying to reduce it as best as we can.

So why are we so keen on leaving? After all, the US is the land of opportunity – dreams to be realized if you are but willing to fight for them. And the “life” here is “good” too:

  • The civil infrastructure is good (and sufficient in scale too)
  • It’s nice to breathe clean, fresh air every day
  • I really love the way the US has preserved its natural heritage & the wilderness
  • Traffic’s almost non-existent (and disciplined too)
  • Museums, Libraries – these are excellent

Or is the life really good? Here’s some of what we miss:

  • Amazing social life that we had back in India
  • Unpretentious neighbors
  • A good education system
  • No compulsion to be politically correct every time
  • A culture of Frugality

If you want a one-line summary, here it is: We have a house in Denver, but our home is back in India.

  1. Jeffrey
    February 16, 2011 at 5:57 AM

    Hi,
    I have been following your blog for a while. It is interesting to note that in your post regarding pros and cons you haven’t mentioned the work/life balance comparison between US and India.
    I myself am moving back to India after living in Europe for 11 years. I’m taking a slightly unconventional route–i’m studying fulltime for 1 yr at IIMB before exploring the options available in India.

  2. supernaut
    February 16, 2011 at 6:22 AM

    Hi Jeffrey,

    Nice to know that you visit my blog…

    Now that I think of work/life balance, yes I did not mention that.. But honestly – it is the same for me in the US as it was in India. Actually, over here I get to spend lesser time with my family as I have an hour’s (tiring) commute each way to office.

    Back in Mumbai, it was 15 minutes one way (unbelievable, I know – but true).

    All said and done, I believe the work/life balance is more a factor of the organization you are working for than where you are located – what do you think?

    Hey all the best for your EPGP program! I had applied there last year too and got dinged in the interview. From the 20 minutes I spent with the faculty in the interview – I can tell you that I was impressed. So I am sure you will enjoy your year there.

  3. Jeffrey
    February 17, 2011 at 1:16 AM

    Hi supernaut,
    I think you are right on the work/life balance part, but in a “rat race” type of situation where things are pretty much the same in most organisations I don’t know what can be done to achieve work/life balance. this is the part which worries me most.
    Reg. commute time, mine is exactly opposite yours. I used to spend 1.5 hours each way in Mumbai and now it’s 15 mins each way.
    I have started writing a no-nonsense blog about my MBA experience. Will send you the link separately.

  4. supernaut
    February 18, 2011 at 12:38 PM

    As far as the rat race is concerned – I have simply opted out of it 🙂 (Yes, you are allowed to do that)

    I can’t even begin to tell you how much peace it has brought into my life..

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

