Home > Corporate Tales > Missing home

Missing home

Here in the US, the fastest way of getting any social interaction is to invite people over for dinner. In our apartment complex’s “Indian Community” there’s at least one such formal dinner every week – with someone or the other inviting someone else. So far, we have been invited to 3 of our friends’ homes, and we have in turn invited people four times. Prudence (and societal niceties) demand that no one be left out, and everyone invite everyone else at least once (and an equal number of times if more than once).

Tonight, two of my colleagues are coming over to our place for dinner. We planned the menu a week in advance, and my wife has spent most of yesterday and today fixing up everything. 30 minutes from now, the doorbell will ring and our house will be full of chit-chat and laughter for the next three hours.

Except that I won’t be there to share this with my wife (and be with her in case there are any sour vibes).

Today one of my projects was supposed to go live to production – at 3PM to be precise. To cut a long story short, there were some hiccups, and here I am – sitting with the technical team that’s trying to fix things up. I have had three phone calls to home in the last few hours, and although my wife is very supportive and understands that I need to be here – I know that we both want to be together right now.

As I write this, two of my colleagues just let out a small cheer and throw their hands up in a gesture of victory. Apparently, they have figured the solution out. All that remains now is to document what they have done and write an email to the person who will take the baton from them. Then, we all head home.

It looks like the weekend will be a good one, after all.

  1. Jeffrey
    February 27, 2011 at 3:10 AM

    Hi, agree with your comments that the best way to get a social circle is to have this dinner stuff. But beyond a certain point it gets too routine and stressful. I remember when i was sent to UK first by an Indian company for an onsite assignment, this “dinner diplomacy” would consume nearly every weekend. Luckily I was a bachelor then so people did not expect much from me and my other bachelor flatmates’ cooking!!

  2. supernaut
    February 27, 2011 at 7:37 PM

    I like the term “dinner diplomacy”…

    For a change, over here the bachelors (and forced bachelors) are excellent cooks. So although they don’t invite people over for dinner, their lunch boxes are always in demand in office.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

