Home > Corporate Tales > An act of kindness

An act of kindness

My train reached the 16th & California station at 8:15AM. I walked till 16th Street, and turned right towards Republic Plaza. Most people turned along with me, but some crossed the street to get their bagels from Einstein’s. As I reached Glenarm plaza, the signal turned red, and I waited for the vehicles to go their way.

On the other side of 16th Street, a man was struggling in a wheelchair. He wanted to cross Glenarm plaza too, but seemed intimidated by the flow of traffic. Again and again, he went closer to the street, only to come back to the safety of the walkways. While he was hesitating, I noticed another person step up to him and say something. When this man straightened up, I saw the jolly bearded face and immediately recognized him – he was David, and he works in my office.

I don’t know what transpired between them, but David got behind the wheelchair, and pushed it across the street. Then, he smiled in lieu of a goodbye, patted the other man’s shoulder, and continued on his way to office.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

