Home > Thinking Out Loud > Searching for a robot

Searching for a robot

I thrust my hands into my jacket’s pocket, for Denver is always chilly after sunset. As I pass the leasing office, I stop and look at the sky. There are no clouds tonight, and so I get a splendid view of the moon.

Usually, whenever I look at the sky I fantasize about Foundation. Could something like that really happen? Would it?

But today, my thoughts trail to the end of the series. Fifteen years ago, when I first read the books, an abandoned and radioactive earth was just another plot in a story. Today – the odds of that happening, though minuscule, are significant enough to be worried about. How many generations of my descendants will know the Earth as a beautiful planet? I really don’t know, and I’m scared to think about it.

Where are you, R. Daneel Olivaw? The world needs you, more than ever.

  1. July 13, 2011 at 1:05 PM

    Asimov’s imagination foretold so many things. Thanks for reminding me. Great blog.

  2. July 13, 2011 at 1:47 PM

    Thanks for stopping by, and it’s good to know that you like the stuff here.

    Keep visiting!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

