Home > Side Projects > Experiments with Coffee

Experiments with Coffee

For the past 2 months, I have been trying to reduce my caffeine intake. I have decided upon a two-pronged attack – drinking Chai when I feel like some caffeine, or decaf when I just want the taste of coffee.

Of course, there are folks who deride decaf for various reasons – if I would, it would probably be for the loss of flavor. But I guess now I’ve come to terms with the brand I use (Folgers). It’s good – nay, it’s great.

Anyways – yesterday I had coffee at 5PM – after a long time I had a second regular coffee in the day.

I enjoyed it, but the real fun started later in the night. I just couldn’t fall asleep. After about two hours, I finally dozed off.

I don’t remember the last time this happened to me. But in a way, it’s good – I think this shows that my caffeine reduction is working.

Next plan – start walking every morning. I’ve already bought myself a pair of good shoes; more updates later.

  1. May 16, 2011 at 11:53 AM

    The thought of Starbucks gets me up in the morning. I’ve often wondered how I would react to unknowingly drinking decaf that I think is regular coffee. Years ago, I drank so much caffeine that I could sleep after a venti caramel macchiato. Is that good or is that a bad thing?

    • supernaut
      May 16, 2011 at 2:27 PM

      I think to some extent I identify with your thoughts. Till a couple of months ago, I would drink at least 5-6 cups of coffee a day (down from about 11-12 last year).
      So in April, when I consciously decided to reduce the caffeine, I was in for a surprise. The headaches are gone, the heartburn and acidity are gone. And I am in better spirits most of the day.
      Yes, the first 3 weeks were lousy – the withdrawal symptoms were bad. But this time I managed to get over them (probably by drinking decaf? I don’t know for sure).
      But yes, I don’t think I’ll go back to having more than a cup of coffee a day regularly (Chai is exempt)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

