Mesmerized

I have been reading Stephen King for many years now. I’ve not read all that he has written, but there are a few books which I read over and over again:

  • Different Seasons
  • The Running Man
  • Nightmares and Dreamscapes
  • Night Shift
  • The Green Mile
  • and many more

My wife tried to read them too, but didn’t like his writing somehow. But that’s OK; to each his own.

But why is it that I like Mr. King’s books so much? Is it the rich description of people’s emotions? The way he writes about the atmosphere? The small towns he conjures up? Or something altogether different?

I have tried to think a lot about it, and now I guess know what it is. It’s not any of the above, as you might have guessed.

I supposed I like his books because you can so easily immerse into them, and get lost in his world.

How many other authors have done that to you?

  1. May 28, 2011 at 6:42 PM

    My favorite is “Insomnia.” I started that book in the morning and stayed up al night to finish it. I couldn’t put it down.

    • supernaut
      May 30, 2011 at 8:06 PM

      Right now I am in the middle of “It” and am parallely reading “Dune”

      • May 30, 2011 at 9:23 PM

        I have ADD when it comes to reading … so, I’ve been listening to audio books via librivox.

  2. supernaut
    May 30, 2011 at 10:55 PM

    ADD… I have it often, but surprisingly not so much when I read. Though there are times when I am just skip over paragraphs and paragraphs. In such cases, I revisit those sections again sometime.

    But reading *is* about the best pleasure in the world, isn’t it?

    • May 30, 2011 at 11:01 PM

      I started and stopped 5 books, but librivox lets me listen while I’m researching so I can finish a book in a couple of days. Reading is a great pleasure. I tend to go for: Carver, Miller, Kundera, Bukowski (although I resisted him for years), and I’ve re-discovered Fitzgerald. I like reading horror too. I’ve been working on Justin Cronin’s “The Passage” only 1/4 into the book, but not bad.

  1. September 26, 2011 at 10:55 AM

Leave a Reply

