Home > Thinking Out Loud > A bevy of thoughts

A bevy of thoughts

When I was in college, I used to read a lot of non-fiction. Some of those books, more of the philosophical side, still have a special place in my heart. Gems like “The Prophet”, “The Prince” (this is not strictly philosophical though) fall into this category.

And then there were the “inspirational” goods…

“It is tough people that win the race”

“Believe in yourself; that’s the key”

“You can bend the world to your will; all you need to do is try”

What a boatload of crap.

  1. May 31, 2011 at 6:17 PM

    lololol … lmao …. 🙂 I especially love the “you can bend the world to your will” quote. Oh if that were true can you imagine? I”m not that ambitious. I would like to just bend the results of lotto numbers.

  2. supernaut
    May 31, 2011 at 9:57 PM

    Well, there was a time when I almost believed it. I think everybody goes through such phases, don’t they?

    • June 1, 2011 at 8:35 AM

      Well … I suppose so. It’s kind of like believing in Santa Claus (I wholeheartedly did as a kid), but you know something is fishy because he just sounds too good to be true.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

