Home > Side Projects > Where’s that book?

Where’s that book?

It’s been a long time since I’ve started working on my book. It first began with a longer story (which I am still hopeful that I’ll finish someday). A couple of months ago, I started working on a compendium of short stories.

The stories are there in my head – right down to the last detail, but somehow I am unable to bring them out on paper. Not sure whether it is writer’s block or something else – but the words just won’t come out. I am stuck in the opening scene, not sure what’s going wrong.

So I think I will try a different approach now.

Rather than completing the story one scene at a time, I think I will go ahead and create a first draft – a rough draft. Hopefully, with enough iterations, I should be able to bring it to life.

And more importantly, during this exercise, I will hopefully find out why is it that my longer book is languishing.

  1. June 10, 2011 at 8:43 AM

    I’m feeling what you’re saying and I wish I had an answer for you. It’s a good idea to do a draft to move things along. Mine is just a series of bullet points that go scene by scene or sometimes it’s a whole paragraph or it starts out with a great quote I have in my head. Then I build on it. Phase two is when I look at those notes and begin the writing process. I still have my obstacles (block, laziness and etc), but at least I’ve mapped out each chapter. Good luck …

    • June 10, 2011 at 1:57 PM

      Thanks for the wishes… I hope I’ll have some progress to report in the next couple of weeks!

  2. June 19, 2011 at 11:41 AM

    Short Stories u say…

    I have written some myself, 8 or 10 actually
    but they were a long time coming, v. diff from regular posts
    I think getting ppl to read drafts and getting feedback helps

    Prolific is a state of mind

  3. June 19, 2011 at 9:21 PM

    Do you have them published somewhere that I can read?

    Thanks for stopping by!

  4. June 19, 2011 at 9:30 PM

    yea, on my other blog
    http://www.punnu-mangoppl.blogspot.com/p/short-stories.html

    hvn been able to crack a major publisher yet, the older ones might seem somewhat juvenile
    😀

  1. July 30, 2011 at 10:19 AM

Leave a Reply

