Home > Corporate Tales, Thinking Out Loud > Where is my career headed to?

Where is my career headed to?

On most mornings, I don’t get a seat on the Light Rail – I have to stand at the door. At each station, I have to shuffle around to make room for passengers to get off and on. But today, I left from home earlier than usual and found a spot in the middle of the car. Standing at one place with nothing to do goes hand-in-hand with quality thinking time, and that’s what I ended up doing too.

After a long time, I gave some serious thought to my career. As of now, I am comfortably placed – I’m a senior project manager, and over the past six years I have graduated from managing single small projects to managing larger projects, to managing multiple small and large projects together. Considering my experience and expertise (I’m PMI certified since 2007), I can expect to grow into a Program Manager in the next two-three years. Another three years of experience there should qualify me for entry-level delivery management.

But what after that? If I want to grow beyond (and even within) delivery management, my skill set is woefully lacking. Here’s what I will have to cover in the next five years:

  • Understanding Finance (I’ve learnt this before, but the sword is rusty due to lack of use, so to speak – need to polish it up)
  • Macroeconomics (I love Economics, so this should not be a pain)
  • Strategy (never read this, but I know that it’s an essential weapon in any Senior Manager’s personal armory)
  • One European Language (my personal inclination is towards German)
Well – I do have about five years to get these under my belt, but considering my habit of procrastination, I’m not too sure when I’ll work through these.
  1. July 2, 2011 at 9:46 PM

    a 5 year plan
    still topic of debate in India

    I learnt Spanish in B-school but except understanding the movie Desperado and the series Dexter better, it hasn’t helped much

    • July 5, 2011 at 9:19 AM

      Well I’ve always wanted to learn German – I think it’s probably because it’s so close to English (English is a “Germanic” language, after all).

      As far as 5 year plans are concerned… all I’ll say is that I love to plan. It keeps my mind off the things that’ll potentially drive me insane 🙂

  2. July 4, 2011 at 12:02 AM

    I think that anything that improves your mind and your life is worth the time. It’s great that you know exactly what you need to do to grow your skills. Now it’s up to you to decide if you want to do it or not,

    • July 5, 2011 at 9:22 AM

      I do want to… the trouble is finding time.

      In fact I had started to learn German when I was single and had learnt some basic stuff too. But now, if and when I have time, I prefer to spend it reading.

      • July 5, 2011 at 9:52 AM

        Ah, you can read a how to book about German 🙂 It is very close to English 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

