Home > Thinking Out Loud > Something missing, monsieur?

Something missing, monsieur?

We went into the mountains over the weekend. We were at the Grand Lake for the most of the day – we took a boat ride, enjoyed the sun and the breeze, and rented a tandem kayak and spent an hour paddling.

My “delight” quotient started to increase early in the morning when we loaded stuff into the car, and reached it’s peak when we were sitting still right in the middle of the lake – not paddling, not doing anything at all.

In the evening, we packed up, and drove home. As we left US-40 and hit I-70, I was the only one awake. By the time we took the ramp on to I-25, I could literally sense my emotional energy leaving me.

And I think this “emotional energy yo-yo” has been part of me for God knows how many years now.

My mother always says that my 24X7 smile disappeared the moment I started college. 10 years ago, when I got my first job, I was always the optimist, even if not smiling. But now, what is left is cynicism, acceptance of the world, and a generous dose of reality.

Don’t take me wrong – I am not asking for the old days back; I love it the way everything is right now. But sometimes I do wonder – could it have been different?

  1. July 26, 2011 at 1:00 PM

    I have those thoughts as well. No answers though.

    • July 26, 2011 at 1:31 PM

      Initially I looked for answers too, but then I don’t think I’ll ever find them.

  2. July 31, 2011 at 10:05 AM

    a generous dose of reality

    nice post

    I would like to see images on your blog

    where is the lake and the kayak and the mountain?

    • August 1, 2011 at 6:32 AM

      Well somehow I am averse to posting images up on the site. But now that I think about it, I can always post images that don’t give my anonymity away, can’t I?

      Let me see if I can work that out. Thanks for the suggestion!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

