Home > Side Projects > How flexible is your shoe size?

How flexible is your shoe size?

If you are a regular visitor here, you probably know that I have been struggling with my book for a long time now. If you aren’t (or if you don’t know), well – I’ve told you.

The last analysis that I did led me to conclude that I need to re-think the plot and possibly get started all over again. While I have been doing that, I still do not have a sufficient comfort level about the whole thing. What could be lacking now? Let’s see…

  • Re-develop the plot – check
  • Rewrite the story – check
  • Do the character sketches – hmmmmm…

So that’s where the current problem lies! I have started working on it, but then that’s only step 1. Once the character sketches are complete, I need to immerse myself in them – at least enough to know my characters inside out. To be able to know what each character will do in a given scenario: the words that they will use, their body language, their facial expressions, everything. If I don’t have a grip on this – for each character – I don’t think I’ll be able to write the story, let alone make it believable.

Ergo, here are the targets for the next two weeks:

  1. Complete the character sketches
  2. Absorb them all so that I can step into anyone’s shoes at the drop of a hat
  1. July 30, 2011 at 10:32 AM

    Interesting post, thanks for sharing. I’ve often wanted to write a book but I can never get started. Hope yours works out. Good luck on the Post a Week goal for the year.

    • July 30, 2011 at 11:35 AM

      Well, keep plodding on – someday you will be there for sure!

      Thanks for stopping and I do hope that you keep visiting often.

  2. July 31, 2011 at 9:39 AM

    hey man
    how much time do u put into writing/working on d book in day?

    • August 1, 2011 at 6:30 AM

      As of now… about 2-3 hours every fortnight!

      That explains (the lack of) my progress, doesn’t it?

  3. August 1, 2011 at 10:50 AM

    2-3 hrs twice a month is less. In a world of hand-held devices, there should be no stopping a creative writer

    I spend long hours (must be close to 10) on weekends

    n say an average of half an hour a day

    Most of it for blog posts and articles on other sites so I don think I can put a book together

    • August 1, 2011 at 12:44 PM

      Yes, I agree… It’s far too less… but right now I am somehow unable to make more time for it. Hoping that it changes in the near future!

  4. October 7, 2011 at 11:28 AM

    I too am working on a book and I have found that when I’m in a “situation” I’ll think about how my characters will react, what will they say and etc. I find myself ruminating them and when I really get into my noodle I believe I am them (just for a moment) and that’s when my noodle goes bonkers because some of my characters are semi-bonkers anyway.

    Much success in your writing process and in your book. It’s a painful and frustrating process, but sometimes I have fun with it as well.

    • October 7, 2011 at 12:55 PM

      Thanks for the kind words! Yes, it is painful and even more frustrating… But there’s no way that I’m giving up 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

