Home > Everything Else > The Mountains, Gandalf!

The Mountains, Gandalf!

Pune is my “hometown”. While I’ve spent most of my childhood outside it, Pune still has a special place in my heart. The small lanes, the candy shops surrounded by the milky fragrance of home-made sweets, the wooden balconies in the old parts of the town – it’s something you won’t find in many towns these days.

But what I love the most about Pune are the mountains. When I was a kid, you could see them from almost any part of town. Today, the concrete jungle is stealing the city’s soul, but there still are a few major streets from where the mountains are visible. Oh, lest I forget – once you step outside the city’s limits, there are mountains everywhere. Pune is right between them, after all.

So nine months ago, when we landed in Denver, a small part of me was pleased. Of course, I never wanted to leave India, but at least I was in a place surrounded by mountains.

The Rocky mountains are visible from anywhere in Denver – including my house. And if you want to go hiking, they are hardly a two-hour drive.

It’s a nice feeling.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. August 30, 2011 at 4:29 PM

Leave a Reply

