Home > Everything Else, Thinking Out Loud > The art of writing

The art of writing

The past few months have been fairly demanding for me – so much in fact, that I am unable to post as often as I used to, as often as I would love to.

But then I have managed to churn out a few posts in the last couple of months, haven’t I? However, while thinking about them has been a satisfying exercise (as always), somehow the writing part was not that good.

Usually, I spend at least a few hours, if not more, when writing a post. My first draft gets revised into a second, a third – on an average there are at least 10 edits to each post.

And yet, in these past two months, I have hardly written anything that required more than three edits. This does not mean that the quality of my writing has improved drastically, as if by magic. Instead, what I think is happening is that my writing does not turn out to be as beautiful to me as I would like it to be.

But then this will not be forever – there will come a time when I will have some time on my hand at least to write proper posts. And until that time comes, I will wait.

Eight months is not a long time.

  1. January 28, 2012 at 3:21 PM

    I have a love/hate relationship with writing and I think your posts are always proper 🙂

    • January 28, 2012 at 3:23 PM

      hey thx!! it’s good to know that there are folks who like what I churn out.

      On another note – I don’t think I can ever be as prolific as you are!

      • January 28, 2012 at 4:12 PM

        I never thought about being prolific … I try to trudge out the posts between writing my book and working … I know that knowing “you” are reading my posts and etc helps me keep keeping on.

      • January 28, 2012 at 4:14 PM

        yep.. it doesn’t matter who/what your muse is – knowing who/what it is and having it/her with you makes all the difference.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

