Home > Everything Else > Un Momento

Un Momento

I got down from the bus, crossed the street, and started to walk towards my apartment. I took the shortcut between the B and C buildings, but instead of going towards the water fountain, I kept going straight around the shade tree. As I turned left, a stray ray of sun hit my eye, and I turned to look.

The setting sun was peeking through the two buildings, and the leaves were shimmering with a brilliant shade of yellow. The grass around the tree was strewn with fallen leaves, and there were three ducks swimming in the water. In an instant, my mind was divided in two – one part of me wanted to run to the apartment, get the camera and shoot this magnificent spectacle. The other part said – will it still be this enchanting when you are back with the camera? Probably not. So it’s better if you just stand here for 10 mins and watch it until it lasts.

As I wrestled between these two thoughts, I finally found middle ground. No doubt, the moment would be lost by the time I came back with my camera. But at the same time, if I stayed there till dark then my memory would get distracted by the beauty of darkness too.

So I stood there for two minutes, took in the whole scene, and walked home with a memory of a beautiful fall sunset.

  1. May 20, 2013 at 9:05 PM

    I really like it whenever people come together and share
    thoughts. Great blog, stick with it!

  2. June 14, 2013 at 1:29 AM

    Howdy, I think your website might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog in Safari, it looks fine however, if opening in
    Internet Explorer, it’s got some overlapping issues. I simply wanted to provide you with a quick heads up! Besides that, great site!

    • June 14, 2013 at 12:26 PM

      Hmm… I am tempted to reply “this is as per design”.

      Is it the small horizontal bar at the bottom that you are talking about?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

