Home > Side Projects, Thinking Out Loud > A tough choice

A tough choice

Should you do:

  1. What you want to do?
  2. What you think your audience wants you to do?
  3. What your audience actually wants?

It’s a tough choice, isn’t it? I think the best thing that can happen is for #1 and #3 to coincide.

My fingers are crossed.

  1. February 1, 2013 at 4:08 PM

    I always think that a writer should write for their ideal audience – themselves. They aren’t going to be the only ones who enjoy it.

    • February 1, 2013 at 4:14 PM

      And that’s where the first conflict lies for me. I know that I should write to please myself, but I fear – what if others aren’t as moved by it as I am?

      I know – this fear is unfounded. But then emotions usually win over logic.

      • February 1, 2013 at 4:20 PM

        You aren’t going to be the only one who is moved. Hopefully you will figure it out. Good luck.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

