Home > Thinking Out Loud > Puppets, all of us

Puppets, all of us

I had tried to read a graphic novel a few years ago, and put it back within a few pages – and assured myself that they are not for me. I didn’t miss them either – content with reading prose the way I have always done.

But a couple of weeks ago, I chanced upon “Watchmen”. It is a Hugo award winner – and therefore I decided to give it a try. It’s just over an inch thick, and I gave myself a week to finish reading it.

To make a long story short – I couldn’t keep it down at all; I stayed up until the wee hours and finished it in one sitting. It has the power to immerse you into itself and spit you back into reality after the last page. Like a Stephen King novel, you may say.

Looking back, I think I consumed it like I eat ice-cream, gulping great dollops like there’s no tomorrow. For the next reading, I think I’ll go through it like my wife eats chocolates – savoring every tiny morsel and licking her fingers clean.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

